Building a habit of waking up early

“Early rising not only gives us more life in the same number of years, but adds, likewise, to their number; and not only enables us to enjoy more of existence in the same time, but increases also the measure.”

~ Caleb C. Colton

There are definitely many benefits of rising early. As this blog is about improving myself for the better, I think my first step should be to make a habit of waking up early. 

Goal:

Make a habit of waking up early.

Definition of success:

  1. Sleep daily by 10:00 PM. 
  2. For 10 continuous days wake up at 6:00-6:30 AM. 
  3. Next 10 continuous days wake up at 5:30-6:00 AM.
  4. Next 10 continuous days wake up at 5:00-5:30 AM. 

History:

I wasn’t always an night owl. In 2009, for a whole year, I had managed to wake up at 4:30 AM in the morning. At that time, I was in high school and I had a very rigidly structured day. I had no choice but to wake up early, cause not doing so had certain academic and social consequences. 

But since 2011, as I entered my college years and especially, since I started working full time, I could afford to sleep late and wake up late. And now, I have troubles with waking up at 9:00 AM in the morning. 

Current situation:

For about a week or so, I have been waking up at 7:00 AM. I managed this by setting my ringtone as my alarm tone. 

Problems:

  1. No tangible incentive for waking up early. There are benefits of waking up early, but if it doesn’t harm me in any way; I would most probably be unlikely to give up the comforts of a warm bed. And after all, I’m getting along just fine without waking up early, ain’t I?
  2. I have become an night owl and I have trouble sleeping at night. 
  3. I again slack off after my alarm rings. 
  4. I don’t have a structured morning.
  5. There are no consequences of not waking up early. 

Probable solutions:

  1. I need to create immediate incentives. Ok. Every time I wake up early, I will have a chocolate milkshake. Maybe I need to stop sleeping on the bed and start sleeping on the floor and see if it helps. 
  2. I need to sleep at a predetermined, fixed time. 
  3. Get up and do some activity immediately. I found an interesting post of alarm apps, which force you to wake up here
  4. Ok. So, as you wake up, immediately step into the shower. Get into your running gear and go for a run. After the run buy provisions for healthy diet. Then do 50 push-ups, write a blog post and go for the breakfast.
  5. I need to find a committed early riser running buddy. Or I need to join a gym or a morning group. 

Action steps:

  1. Shower by 9:55 PM.
  2. Keep the morning running gear and my shoes ready, near your bed. 
  3. Keep my phone away from the bed. (To force me to get up & walk to turn off the alarm.)
  4. Sleep by 10:00 PM. 
  5. Once the alarm rings, you will NOT get back in the bed. 
  6. Start your morning routine immediately. (Shower-Run-Morning shopping-Pushups-Blog post-Breakfast.)

Observations:

I’ll post updates & my observations here. 

Update:

21/09/2016: I have set up three alarms for 5.00, 5.30 & 6.00 AM. I generally wake up @ 5.30AM now!

3 thoughts on “Building a habit of waking up early

Leave a Reply

