The man on the edge

~By Stephen Blackwood 

I’m a man on the edge. 

One more step, an inch closer to death. 

Just a little further and I’ll fly off the ledge. 

Straight into the welcoming arms of death.

With nobody to please there, I will finally rest. 

Absolute freedom for one last irreversible step. 

No duty to fulfil & no status to maintain. 

I’m greedy for such prospect.

One final breath & I’ll jump.

I’ll fall & I’ll fly. 

Out of your reach, free forever. 

So, now I’ll set my heat’s beating symphony to rest. 

For I’m nearing my final place. 

For a long time, I’ve wanted this to end. 

And so it will, once I jump off the edge.

2 thoughts on “The man on the edge

Leave a Reply

