Late Start

My dreams- faded & lost.

Another rush of guilt to my heart.

My humour- rusted, crumbling, dead.  

Another side effect of my arrogant head. 

Pushing the heavy burden of regrets,

My pride- buckled under the weight.  

Tired, exhausted & out of breath.

I know I’m late, 

But I’m learning to love the one I hate.  

Having thrown caution to the wind,

& my practical life- a distant dream,

I’m trading down a dangerous path.

It’s a new start.

And I’m learning to trust my hollow heart,

& filling it up with the love it deserves.  

At last.

***

This poem is in response to the daily post: Trust.

If you like this post, please hit the like button!

2 thoughts on “Late Start

Leave a Reply

